» » Karine Polwart with Steven Polwart & Inge Thomson - Laws of Motion

Karine Polwart with Steven Polwart & Inge Thomson - Laws of Motion album FLAC

  • Performer: Karine Polwart
  • Title: Laws of Motion
  • Genre: World
  • Country: UK
  • Released: 2018
  • Style: Celtic, Folk
  • MP3 album: 1504 mb
  • FLAC album: 1232 mb
  • Rating: 4.7/5
  • Votes: 176
Karine Polwart with Steven Polwart & Inge Thomson - Laws of Motion album FLAC

Polwart's 2017 album 'A Pocket Of Wind Resistance' used the migratory habits of geese to crack open universally human societal & ecological issues. Subject matter as disparate as Trump, WW2 & holocaust survivors are drawn together by the laws of the album's title alongside the experiences of migrants and allegorical folk & children's stories.

That album was a triumph, and Polwart is clearly on a roll. Laws Of Motion picks up where A Pocket Of Wind Resistance left off, with more songs that deploy the power of narrative in the face of mindless politics. Several of the tracks here were written with Martin Green of Lau, and Polwart is joined by two regular musical partners – her brother Steven on guitar and vocals, and Inge Thomson on accordion and percussion. Together the songs form a set almost despite themselves, returning to the themes of malign leaders, war and destruction.

Steven Polwart & Inge Thomson" Ringtones to your Cell. Album: Laws Of Motion. Crow on the Cradle Lyrics. Steven Polwart & Inge Thomson Lyrics provided by SongLyrics.

Karine Polwart's Scottish Songbook Edinburgh International Festival Leith Theatre Thurs August 16th - 7:30pm. A sense of place and meaning': Karine Polwart on the magic of Scottish pop. The folk singer’s Edinburgh festival show reinterprets classic and cult Caledonian gems close to her heart, like Big Country’s melancholic anthems and Cocteau Twins’ filthy futurism. 15 August at 09:45 ·. OPHELIA the the first track from Laws of Motion, the new album from Steven Polwart, Inge Thomson and I. When the easternmost Atlantic hurricane ever hit The. Ophelia' is taken from the album 'Laws of Motion' by Karine Polwart with Steven Polwart & Inge Thomson Released 1. 0 youtube.

Laws of Motion draws on more disparate inspirations. The Midlothian moors still brood and the North Sea mists still swirl, but Suitcase is about child refugees from Nazi Europe, while Matsuo’s Welcome to Muckhart concerns a Japanese gardener who came to Scotland after losing his family in a 1923 earthquake. Then there’s her verdict on Donald Trump, voiced by the spirit of Lewis, birthplace of his mother, which passes righteous judgment against its lost boy who has stacked hopes into a pyre. Polwart’s clear, bell-like vocals have a narrator’s ease and brother Steven (guitar) and Inge Thomson (accordion and more) supply atmosphere. Revisiting her childhood terror of nuclear war ( Protect and Survive et al) is perhaps fighting yesterday’s battles; otherwise, a flawless outing.

Home Folk/Americana . Hudson. Karine Polwart with Steven Polwart/Inge Thomson. Laws Of Motion" (5:18). 3. "I Burn But I Am Not Consumed" (5:28).

This week, Scottish singer-songwriter Karine Polwart talks about her latest album, Laws of Motion, made with longtime collaborators Inge Thomson and Steven Polwart. Plus, the usual mix of new releases, old classics and news from the folk world. Last on. Wed 26 Sep 2018 20:00. BBC Radio 2. More episodes.

Laws Of Motion by Karine Polwart with Steven Polwart & Inge Thomson, released 19 October 2018 1. Ophelia 2. Laws Of Motion 3. I Burn But I Am Not Consumed 4. Suitcase 5. Cornerstone 6. Matsuo's Welcome to Muckhart 7. Young Man On A Mountain 8. Crow On The Cradle 9. The Robin 10. Cassiopeia. Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Purchasable with gift card.


A1 Ophelia 5:52
A2 Laws of Motion 5:18
A3 I Burn But I Am Not Consumed 5:25
A4 Suitcase 3:32
A5 Cornerstone 4:39
B1 Matsuo's Welcome To Muckhart 5:14
B2 Young Man On A Mountain 4:00
B3 Crow On The Cradle 4:25
B4 The Robin 5:02
B5 Cassiopeia 4:42

Companies, etc.

  • Recorded At – Castlesound Studios
  • Mixed At – Castlesound Studios


  • Co-producer, Accordion, Glockenspiel, Percussion, Synth, Vocals, Thumb Piano – Inge Thomson
  • Co-producer, Recorded By, Mixed By, Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar, Vocals – Stuart Hamilton
  • Double Bass – Kevin McGuire
  • Graphic Design – Robin Beatty
  • Mastered By – Dean Honer
  • Percussion – Calum McIntyre
  • Photography – Sandy Butler
  • Producer, Harmonium, Tenor Guitar, Piano, Vocals – Karine Polwart
  • Vocals – Richard Medrington (tracks: 10)


Karine Polwart's latest release on vinyl.
Snipe drumming sample on Track 7 provided by Mangus Robb and Sound Approach.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 056032318434

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
HUD014CD Karine Polwart With Steven Polwart & Inge Thomson Karine Polwart With Steven Polwart & Inge Thomson - Laws Of Motion ‎(CD, Album) Hudson Records HUD014CD UK 2018

Related to Karine Polwart with Steven Polwart & Inge Thomson - Laws of Motion albums: